Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“Time isn’t the main thing. It’s the only thing”, said by Miles Davis. Corporations have always a goal to achieve while facing challenges, operating within the law and moving forward with the time. The responsibility comes along with the operation of corporations.

Indeed, corporations have a responsibility to promote well-being of the society and the environment because they work for people. Products or services provided by these corporations are consumed by the society. If we take an example of Hindustan Unilever Limited (HUL) industry which produces fast-moving consumer goods, this industry uses various chemicals while producing consumer goods and release harmful chemicals as a wastage. They test their some of cosmetic-products on animals which shouldn’t have been done. So, It is their responsibility not to dump wastage in the environment and they should produce cruelty-free and environment-friendly products.

However, it is a competitive area where survival is at stake if a company is not making any profit while operating within the law. A company has to think about its growth meanwhile producing consumer goods. With changing time and needs of the market, a company has to increase its stocks to improve its valuation in the financial market. The reason is consumer-market tendency that is people like to purchase goods of those companies with high values because they kind of build trust on their products. Hence, corporations have the responsibility of making more money also.

In my opinion, sustainable development is important because time, money and products are important for corporations. A corporation should produce eco-friendly products keeping in mind the changing needs of society. It also makes growth of company and eventually make them earn a huge profits.