In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirtand kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employeesworking at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildingscleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll astheir industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure toexplain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument ifthe assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that CleanAll is the best cleanser and to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser. This argument is based on certain assumptions which need to be discussed.

Firstly, laboratory had done study of only two different industrial cleansers which might have different composition. Between the two it considers CleanAll as the best cleanser. It was found that CleanAll removed 40% more dirt and killed 30% more bacteria. Since the laboratory used only two cleansers so one of the two has to be better than the other one and it comes out that the best one is CleanAll. But if the study was done on more than two cleansers of different categories then we would have clearly known that which cleanser is the best and should be used for the best results.

Secondly, all employees working at buildings were healthy and they took fewer sick days leave. It seems like that health of employees is based on the cleanser used in the building rather than their diet or the other activities they do. The study showed where CleanAll is used employees are healthy, they don't get sick. The study didn't mention on which kinds of buildings did it do the research. If the study has been done on same kind of buildings then CleanAll might be the best cleaner. If not, say one building is some corporate office and other one is a big city hospital where ill people are treated, in this case the conclusion will fall apart.

Lastly, it took the assumption that all buildings working and hygienic conditions are the same. Suppose the experiment is done on some buildings which are clean corporate offices and some of them might be manufacturing industries like leather industry. Then it is obvious that the percentage of dirt removed and bacteria killed might be different in these category of buildings. If hygienic conditions are same, then we can surely say that CleanAll can be used as an industrial cleanser but if there is different working conditions of buildings then we need to do some more experiments to reach to any conclusion.

Therefore, according to the assumptions discussed we need to consider certain working conditions, number of healthy or unhealthy employees or need to do some extra research on some other industrial cleansers also. If stated assumptions are warranted then we can say we can use CleanAll but if some or any of the assumptions are false then our conclusion should be based on some more experimentation and study.