Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons

and/or examples that could be used to both support and challenge your position.

Determination, hard work and zeal are keys to success. One becomes successful if one has certain work ethics.Good work ethics can make one grow in one's career and in life also because success doesn't come when he is only good in professional life but he has to be good in his personal life too.

Although Luck also plays some role in success but it cannot be the only determining factor. Some people are so strict in notion of decorum that they always follow work ethics even when they do a small work. Suppose there is a manager of a team who does attend daily meetings, he gives freedom of doing work to his team members,still check progress of the work daily. He always help other team members also in their work. Though the person is manager doesn't mean that he can become senior manager if he doesn't follow rules.However, it is possible that because of luck he can

get senior manager position but relying completely on luck will not do good, but his hard work will surely give success.

Indeed, following work ethics is good as it helps in planning, setting feasible goals and achieving these goals as per the set timelines. For example there is a small business which makes handicraft products and they are planning to participate in say, entrepreneur competition next year, for that they must have certain amount of income which is a pre-condition for the competition. So employer and employees have to plan their work accordingly to deliver the products, make money before the competition registration starts. Based on their luck, they won't be able to participate. But

it is also true that sometimes people struggle to get somethings in their life but putting only small efforts they get what they want because of luck.

Lastly, people who are quite disciplined, want to follow their dreams and generally never depend on luck factor. They believe in hard work, following rigorous timeline to achieve something which they want. Suppose there is a student who is preparing for some competitive exam and his goal is to study for Masters in one of the top 5 universities of the world. The student has to be disciplined while doing his work. If he has will power to make his dreams come true, then he can, by

putting time and effort for cracking the exam. Although it is possible that because of luck he might get into rank one university instead of rank five university.

In my opinion, although luck plays some role in determining success but work ethics plays a major role because a person's work ethics shape his professional life, help in growing in life and make him go beyond his limits and achieve something which one thinks as infeasible goals.