Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The representatives of the Airline industry have mention two studies that project number of accidents as a measure of safety and skills of a pilot. It will be interesting to know firstly how unbiased is the report considering the fact that it was presented by representatives of the Airline industry who would invariably like to project Airway as a better option to travel.

Discussing the point presented the number of casualties in Airlines is lower compared to those in automobile. The study however, does not define the cause of these deaths in either case. It is not clear whether those 40,000 deaths were caused by negligence of drivers alone or any other reasons. In many cases deaths of pedestrians may also get reported as automobile accidents. It is also not clear that how many of these automobile deaths were due to people not following rules. The government has put in places signboards, traffic signals and other infrastructure to educate and ensure safety. And if anyone is not following them then it is a risk caused by the individual and cannot be blamed on the automobile transportation. Government makes sure that all vehicles undergo minimum safety checks before coming on road. This is to ensure that there are no fatalities during accidents. The study does not mention any of these questions and therefore its relevance is undermined.

The other study mentions that pilots are less likely than average to have accidents on roads. This statement intends to prove the point that it is safer to have pilots, as they are safe drivers less prone to accidents. This argument has serious flaws in its assumptions. Firstly, it does not mention how many pilots did it included in the survey. Were all of them drivers? How frequently did they drive? Because if one has flying a plane as an occupation the chances are that he would not be spending time driving automobile on road as frequent as any other individual. This would reduce their chances of being in an accident accordingly.

Also, the representatives have not taken into account the point that the rate of survival after being into an accident is also an indicator of safety. What are the chances of fatality in an Airline accident versus an automobile accident? If it were more then it would be better to travel via automobile instead of an Airline.

The studies put forth by the Airline industry representatives look incomplete, providing superficial information. An in depth analysis of all dimensions of the safety is needed to support the claims of the Airline industry without which the argument stated does not hold ground.