The internet is viewed as an excellent means of communication by many. However, there are some who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills.

Communication is defined as means of exchange ideas and views with other person. Before the advent of internet, telephone and letters were the means of communication. Technology has provided us with tools and internet the ability to connect with anyone through various means. But does getting connected means that one communicates with others?

There is no denying that we are more connected than ever before. Video calls through VoIP, messaging apps and emails have made world a smaller place. Thanks to internet we can now speak to someone residing in other part of the world. News and updates can be shared within seconds.

The contrary view is that, though we are more connected to each other, technology has reduced our ability to have meaningful interaction. Social networking websites tie make people get hooked on and they end up disconnecting themselves from physical world. Turning them asocial in real life while they keep on piling up friends in virtual world online. The internet has also lead to degrading the skills needed for an effective communication. For example, people used to write letter for official communications and that made them think what to write. Now, since internet is available people search pre-written templates, copy-paste their information and send it. All of this is done without much effort by the writer. While this may reduce the drudgery of the task it also leads to lack of opportunity to develop communication.