The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Talking about history, what comes to our minds is the human struggle from being a cave dweller to landing on moon. The plethora of famous battles, icons and leaders who shaped the future of the mankind. But, if we have been progressing, as we see from our history, then how justified is to make a statement comparing the people living now are those who lived earlier?

The study of history shows us that we have constantly improved from what we were before. In all domain of life, from science, technology, society and economics we have invented solutions that has made our lives simpler. For example, the invention of wheel made transportation possible. Which, in long term lead to an increase in mobility, trade, exchange of culture and values possible. The history shows that life expectancy was low and innovation in medicine has changed that. Studying history once can see that lives are different than the way they were before. However, living is not only about living with comfort and for 100 years. We must analyze the argument further to understand if the difference is actually real.

Comparing living in a cave to living in a penthouse, it would be unanimous answer as to which one is better. The history shows us that the people who live earlier were driven by the similar forces that drive us now. The wars, that were fought between nations over resources are still there. They were fought for right to own the salves then, and now on the right to acquire natural resources. Barbaric rulers massacred millions to impose their ideology on them. Religious fanatics do the same in present time. There does not seem to be much difference when we compare these.

Coming to advent of science and technology, the main reason for invention of machines was to make work simpler for us. The ultimate objective being to provide a comfortable life to people. But are we content and happy with the comfort we have? How is the greed for a bigger and warmer cave any different for a bigger and expensive mobile phone? The truth being that the needs of the people are still the same; food, shelter and clothing. Whereas, the wants have increased manifolds.

The history shows us a diaspora of events that happened over a period of time. And when we compare the wants of to present day with that of the earlier days we see a lot of change. But, on further probing we do see that the needs have always remained the same for us. Therefore, I'd agree to some extent that the study of History does provide evidence to dispel the illusion that people are living a significantly better lives than they lived before.