In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working in buildings cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that the industrial cleaner CleanAll removes more dirt, bacteria and employees working in buildings cleaned with CleanAll use fewer sick leaves therefore to prevent employee illness CleanAll must be used. We might however, question the two assumptions based on which the argument is presented.

The laboratory study cited in support of argument states that CleanAll removes 40% dirt and kills 30% more bacteria. To make this relevant the study must first correlate the relation between dirt and bacteria being the sole cause of illness. Did the study’s scope included extensive research to arrive at conclusion that all the employees who applied for sick leave were sick due to infection contracted while in the building? This question must be answered to ensure the validity of the first assumption otherwise it undermines the effectiveness of the argument itself.

The author brings in the second study that concludes that the number of employees taking sick leaves in buildings where CleanAll was used was lesser than places where it was not used. The argument is based on several un-proved assumptions. What is the basis of comparison made between the numbers of employees? Consider this; a Building using CleanAll has 20 employee of which 15 apply sick leave in a year where as another building X using some other industrial cleaner has 200 employees of which 20 apply for sick leave in a year. Now comparing numbers we may conclude that employee of the building X fall sick more number of times but instead it is the other way round. The argument does not clarify the total numbers. Secondly it is not clear weather the reason for high sickness in buildings not using CleanAll was only due to the dirt and bacteria in the building. It may be possible that the conditions around the building or in the employee’s house are unhygienic. Lastly, no effort is made to share the medical history of the employees who fall sick. The employees in building with CleanAll may be healthier than those in other buildings due to reasons other than hygiene. Until proven otherwise this assumption weakens the argument by negating the point that CleanAll is responsible for keeping employees in a healthy environment.

To sum, the authors argument is based on assumptions, which are not supported. If the above raised questions are not addressed they seriously jeopardize the certainty of the conclusion. Weakening of either of the assumptions would lead to falsify the claim