The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation is defined as an act when people work together to achieve a common goal. On the other hand, competition is an act where individuals or group of individuals work to beat each other in achieving a goal. While cooperation seems to be a better option as it is more humanizing and based on the concept of working together, it would be parochial to believe that it is the ideal way forward.

Leadership as an attribute consists of elements like boldness, confidence, visionary personality and competitiveness. When we speak in terms of leadership in context of industries, a competitive leader would be the best person to provide direction to the organization. For example, we see that in the twenty first century there is growing competition in the automobile industry. Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla Motors is competing with other brands like Honda, to manufacture the cleaner and safer public vehicles. This competitive nature of the leader has benefited the society, as it makes companies come up with a better and more efficient solution. Similarily, competitive leadership in governance can be beneficial for the society. Young public servants compete amongst each other to make areas, which they govern more better (in terms of availability of government services, greviance addressal etc.) than others. This progressive competiton benefits the society at large. However, competition does not always lead to a positive change. It is well known how the textile industry expolits the workers in third world countries in order to capture their thin profit margins to remain competitive in market.

It is therefore necessary for the young people to have some sense of cooperation also. The role of leader is not limited to leading the organization but also taking people along with them. The leader must have the ability to work with other people to achieve this objective. For example, to the course of an organization would depend on leaders of various departments coming together and preparing a common annual action plan. Failure to work together and understand each other would ultimately lead to loss of the organization. Cooperation is hence a virtue that must be instilled in the young people.

To sum, while it is necessary for young people aiming for leadership positions to have a sense of cooperation instilled in them. Equal importance must be given to promote the sense of competition also. As it is an equal mix of cooperation and competition that would be the way forward for a better society.