People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People make decisions either based on emotion or logic. Decisions that are made based on emotions are usually spontaneous and therefore do not allow an individual to weigh in all the possible outcomes of the act. On the other hand, logic based decisions are considered more mature and trusted because they tend to be more didactic and encompass possible outcomes of any decision made. However, to say that people who make emotion based decision and then try to justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers would be an over simplification.

No one can gainsay the fact that any action that is taken after considering all the possibilities of its impact would be a more universally accepted. The mere fact that the possibility of any unwanted outcome is already considered through a logical thought process, making it less prone to surprises. And people who follow this approach are deemed better than those who dont abide by this method of making decisions. However, there may be case when the individual would not have time to incorporate all the elements to make a logical decision and in such scenario they would fall short of taking any decision. Consider an example of a road accident i which a truck may blow up any minute and there is a driver stuck inside. A person who thinks logically may start to calculate whether the truck may or may not blow up and would it be best for him to save his life rather than the driver. IN such scenarios a Illogical decision maker may fail. In real life scenario there would be instances where making a logic based decision may not be plausible.

The other kind of decision makers are those who go with emotional impulse and later try to justify their actions. Though it can be said that their decisions might not be correct because they do not take in practicality of situation before making up their mind, it would be incorrect to say that they always make poor decisions. Our human nature supports this by providing us with ability to fight or flight in extreme situations. In case of the last example an emotional person may just dash towards a burning tuck and pull out the driver, saving a life. If humanity always made calculative decisions then lot of things that we have today would not be possible. However, we cannot discount that emotional decisions have lead to bad consequences in the past. Nations went to war with each other for decisions made on whims of the rulers, leading to loss of millions of lives.

To sum, it may seem that decisions made without calculating reward and risk are considered as poor but it may not be the case every time. There are instances where an emotional decision is the best way forward to solve a problem. Therefore I would not agree completely with the argument that people who make decisions based on emotions and later justify them with logic are poor decision makers.