The internet is viewed as an excellent means of communication by many. However, there are some who would argue that it is actually destroying our communication skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From its inception, the internet has made a vital contribution for growth of humans. It has undoubtedly made our lives easier but on the other hand our over dependence on internet is of concern. Communication sector is one which has been highly influenced by this technology.

The internet has made it possible for people living in different time zones of the world to communicate within seconds. It acts as a boon for everyone who works or lives away from their family and catalyses in reuniting long lost friends with the help of social networking websites. Moreover, due to the presence of veterans of all fields be it politics, science, business, entertainment and more ; the ability to communicate with them has come into existence. Who would have thought that general public would be able to directly communicate with the US President himself and can understand his point of view on various topics. In fact, internet has acted as a precursor for the emergence of globalization. Whilst all aforementioned factors display how communication has benefited from internet, one cannot deny the fact that it has reduced the verbal communication and true essence of communication to some extent. It is a common sight these days that people tend to display their love on social media but nobody bothers to communicate these feelings in person which has lead to superficial relationships instead of real and affectionate ones.

Having said that, I strongly believe that internet has definitely improved communication between people. As it is said each coin has two sides and to which side we choose to focus is up to us. To reduce the ill-effects of internet on communication absolutely depends on the individual. Amidst all this hype of internet making communication weaker there exist numerous people who are still able to communicate in an old fashioned way that is verbally. So, to not let this technology overpower our relationships depend on us.