"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

The argument mentions the case of Grandview Symphony, which has seen a 200 percent increase in the attendance last year. And based on which it is planned that the ticket prices be increased and budget for the Symphony be removed from the city’s annual budget. At first the arguments seems quite logical. However, the assumptions do not seem to support the argument in its entirety. Some questions need to be answered before any conclusion can be drawn from them.

To begin with, the author mention is that there was a 200 percent increase in the Symphony’s attendance the previous years. This has been taken as a basis to assume that there is an increased popularity for the Symphony amongst the citizens of city. It may indeed be the case as more attendance should mean more interest in the event. However, there is a possibility that there were external factors, which might have lead to this sudden spike in the attendance. Had there been a gradual increase in attendance there would be little doubt in assuming that the people of Grandview city have started to like the symphony, which is not the case here. Therefore, the question that must be answered must be why is there a sudden increase in the attendance? Is it a one-time phenomenon that occurred due to some factor other than the Symphony itself? If the answer were to be in affirmative this would lead to crisis situation where the Symphony would be unable to meet its expenses due to flawed calculation of number of audience.

In addition to that, it is also proposed to increase the ticket price of the Symphony. This decision is based on that the audience does not mind paying extra amount. Even if we assume that the Symphony is highly popular amongst the people there is no evidence that suggests that audience would accept and increase in the ticket price. If, on the contrary, an increase in the ticket prices leads to a situation where people find it too expensive and do not attend the symphony. The author must therefore question would people be okay with an increase in ticket price? And if yes, then up to what extent? This would help in understanding if there is any correlation between ticket price and attendance for the Symphony.

Furthermore, the commissioners of the city based on the assumptions of increase in popularity and plan of increasing the ticket price have commented that the Symphony can be self-sufficient and that there is no need for any separate budget for it. The conclusion drawn is absurd as it is based on assumptions that are not grounded with supporting evidences. Considering all assumptions to be true, that is more people turn up and that too they are willing to pay higher ticket prices, it must be asked would the revenue from these ticket sales would be enough to meet the costs of the Symphony? If not, then in that case any decision to cut the budget would lead to financial crisis for the conduct of Symphony.

To summarize, it may very well be possible that the Grandview Symphony has stuck chord with the people of city. However, the argument presented and conclusion arrived is based on assumptions, which are not supported by evidence. If the author is able to provide answer to the mentioned questions, it can provide the necessary support to arrive at any concrete conclusion.