A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The argument correlates work-related accidents with the paid leave option for a sick employee by citing the research that unpaid leave lead to employees working even when their motor skills are impaired by sickness prompting accidents at work place. The argument is incomplete, as it does not answer questions supporting its claim.

First, the researcher must answer what is meant by ‘accident’ when he/she uses it? Does it only include impaired judgment and not pure negligence by the employee? If this is not established then it means that there might be cases where due to negligence the accidents occur and not due to sickness thereby weakening the argument’s claim.

Then it is important to know weather the employees who were involved in work related accidents were historically regular with accidents or was it only in cases when they were sick that these accidents happened. This would challenge the point that only because of sickness the accidents happen.

Also, the author fails to quantify what is paid and unpaid leave. Does every sick employee prefer to come to work or only those few who have payment higher than certain remuneration find it worthwhile? This question is important, as this will establish weather remuneration is a motive to work even when one is sick. If proven otherwise the claim to the statement that construction workers showed maximum discrepancy could be a standalone case and may not be generalized to all occupations.