If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience

The conclusion that in case both candidates are equally qualified the job should go to the one with more experience is based on the assumption that experience is always better than no experience. While this may be true in most cases but it is not necessary in all occupations.

There are some occupations where experience act as a hindrance to discharge duties in the job. Experience comes w=from the understanding of situations encountered before and solutions that worked or did not worked. This learning provides knowledge base and intuition ability to the individual. However, this itself can become a barrier to learning in a new job. Especially, in jobs that focus on innovation require one to learn new things everyday. A non-experienced person may approach it with neutral perspective and approach it from different ways. Whereas an experience person may keep on trying to relate the problem to a similar situation in the past and try to improvise it using that, leading to a poor innovation. Consider an example where a design firm needs a designer. fresh graduates may play around with new concepts and color palette. While an experienced person prefers to stick to her known industry standard pallets. There are real life examples of companies like Apple and Google who were started not by experienced employees but verdant engineers looking to break the status quo thinking outside the box.

But it is also wrong to think that experience is not an asset. When it comes to running an organization or leading a project people with experience fare far better than those with no experience. It is here that their lived experience of tackling with situations comes handy. For they have tried and tested many solutions and can foretell what may be best. An example would be a marketing firm looking for a business development officer to expand the business clientele. An experienced person brings along with him experience of closing deals, creating new touch points, handling crisis and providing stability, which a new person would lack. In the previous examples of Apple and Google we can see that the positions of responsibilities are given to professionals with extensive experience in the industry.

To summarize one cannot completely say that experience is better than no-experience in all cases. It is subjective in nature and depends on various kinds of jobs, which may or may not benefit from people with past experience. For an ideal solution a mix of fresh graduates and experienced person would be desirable.