An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument suggests that in order to tackle the problem of vitamin A deficiency in the nation of Tagus, the government must promote a shift from traditional quality of millet to a new and vitamin A rich quality. The author supports this argument with the observation that since the people of Tagus have millet in their staple diet they will readily adopt to the new variety. And that even though the new variety would be expensive to cultivate for the farmer, additional subsidies by the government would be able to offset that additional cost. The argument seems valid at first with its supporting argument, however it makes some assumptions which are not backed by enough evidence.

To start with, the development organization assumes that the farmers would be willing to change to a new variety of millet without any apprehension. This is based on the assumption that the government would be providing them subsidy to cover the additional costs, since the new seeds would be expensive than the earlier variety. But, it is not mentioned how much would the additional cost be and what amount of subsidy would the government would be willing to provide. And what if even after the subsidy, cultivating the new variety is more expensive than the traditional one? Would then the farmers still want to shift to the new variety? This information is required as it may jeopardize the assumption that farmers are okay with the new variety. The farmers might just reject the idea of shift in their current pattern because the shift may simply be not profitable to them.

The author also suggests that the new variety of millet would find similar acceptance like the traditional variety because millet is a stable food for the people of Tagus. This argument is flawed as it cannot be established from the presented evidence that a population which is used to eating millets would accept any new variety. It may on the other hand reject the new variety because it might not taste the same. The organization must therefore provide further evidence. Maybe they can conduct surveys and trials testing the acceptance of cooked new variety of millet, this would make their case stronger as it would support the claim that people of Tagus have no apprehension changing to a new variety of millets. This result would also act as a confidence booster for farmers who might be apprehensive about finding market to sell their new variety millets.

It is a noble idea to shift to a more nutrient rich variety of millet to tackle the issue of vitamin deficiency in people. However, the present argument and the assumptions on which it stands fall short of making it clear whether the farmers or the people would be willing to accept this change. The author must answer if the shift would be profitable to the farmers and quality acceptable to the people before concluding and asking the government to promote the new variety. The author must also address the lack of evidence for the assumptions made for the arguments.