The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.
Perceptions of greatness in national and political leaders are largely determined by the
seriousness of the problems that they face during their terms in office. Most national
histories principally highlight individuals in the context of significant events in which the
leaders played important roles. Most political leaders need to have large stores of inherent
skill and ability just in order to become a political leader. However, history remembers those
who lived in great times more fondly than those who did not. Examples of this are numerous
and include the histories of Abraham Lincoln, Woodrow Wilson, and Winston Churchill—all
men who are perceived as great leaders largely because of the times in which they lived.
Abraham Lincoln is often considered the greatest of all the American Presidents. He
graces two units of the currency and has one of the largest monuments built in his honor
in Washington D.C. However, Lincoln is considered great largely because he faced a great
challenge—the civil war between the North and the South in the 1860s. Lincoln led
the United States to victory over the rebels and reunited the country and is therefore
considered great. This is not to say that Lincoln was not skilled. Many know that he was
born in a log cabin and progressed to law school and eventually to the presidency. He was
also a skilled orator. However another man, James Buchanan, also was born in a log cabin,
went to law school, gave good speeches and ascended to the presidency. However there are
no monuments to Buchanan in the capital or pictures of his face on the five-dollar bill.
Woodrow Wilson was another talented man who ascended to the presidency of the United
States. However his talents are not what make his perceived greatness. In this age, few
remember if Wilson was particularly smart, a very good speechmaker, or a good arbitrator.
Most remember that he led the United States to victory in the first World War and
therefore perceive him as great. At the time, however, Wilson was rather unpopular. In fact,
he had so little sway with Congress that he was unable to get the United States to join the
League of Nations—a fact that many claim helped lead to the second World War.
Winston Churchill was another man that history views favorably because of the incredible
challenges that he faced. However, Churchill was not very popular before the war. When
Franklin Roosevelt first met Churchill before either was the leader of his respective country,
Roosevelt wrote in his diary that Churchill was full of himself and far too talkative. Early in his term as Prime Minister, Churchill even faced a no-confidence vote in Parliament. However,
the events of World War II accorded him the perception of greatness in the eyes of history.
Many might argue that these men and other men and women were already great before
history gave them great challenges. While it is impossible to definitely disprove this
assertion and it may be true that they had great skill and ability, otherwise they would not
have been political leaders, most examples point to the fact that the times make the man
or woman. If the presidencies of Buchanan and Lincoln were switched, we would very likely
have the Buchanan memorial instead. In summary, it is true that the perceived greatness of
a political leader is more due to great challenges than great inherent ability. The historical
examples of Lincoln, Wilson, and Churchill bear this out. All were talented, but so too are all
political leaders. Only the leaders that live in eventful times are remembered as great.