Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain the reasoning for the positioning you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your positions.

“All work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy.”, rightly goes the age old adage. The cardinality of sports, arts and other co-corricular activities on the holistic development of a child is backed well by all domains of scientific research as well as theological sages. Compromising on extra-cirriculars of students in order to repair buildings doesnot appear to be a sagacious decision as far as students welfare is concerned.

To charge out minds to comprehend and learn academically challenged material, our mind needs to be sharp and at its best state to study. Extra-cirriculars are proven to refresh our minds and relax them, so that they are at their best form to grasp the complex academic studies. For instance, a research conducted at IIT Bombay says that a mind can focus at it’s best for 40 hours only. Breaks and refreshments enhance the mental faculties upto 40%. Therefore, cutting on sports and arts and similar activies can negatively impact student’s performance. Hence, these activities must not be curtailed at any cost as it would indirectly hamper the primary reason for which schools are running - education.

Furthermore, the repair of buildings is not as great a necessity for the schools which are meant for overall development of the students. For example, my school SGSITS, Indore located in central India is one of the best in the state. It stands out because it has state of the art faculties and platforms for extra-corricular activities. Since it is a government funded school with a lot of fund scarcity, it doesnot have very robust, aethetically pleasing, well painted and well furnished buildings. But these things donot bring down the overall reputation of the school wich is built on the basis of how competitive it is in academics and extra-corricular activities.

Also, there are some schools which are well to do and have enough fundings to ensure repairment of buildings and other student activities in he school simultaneously. In these cases, there is no question of stinting on the arts or sport activities of the students in order to fund building construction.

However, some may argue that shabby and weak buildings are not conducive to learning atmosphere for the students and hamper their education by affecting them psycologically. While, I agree that there may be some affect on the education due to unappealing and tenuous buildings on campus, but definitely the effect of confiscating extra-corriculars would be on much greater degree.

In sum, the schools must not cut on the funds of extra-cirricular activities as they help wholesome development of students and harbor learning of the academic material effectively. While, if possible, the buildings must also be reapaired in the schools but nary at the cost of arts and sports.