Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two seperate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deathsin automobile accidentsverss only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The author concludes that flying is safer than driving citing two reasons. A statistical figure that says the total number of death are mugh higher because of automobile accidents and the other is a study that indicates that pilots are four times less likely to have accidents. The argument has many loopholes which must be filled by the author to make the argument strong.

First, the author must give the figure of total number of passengers that travel by flight and automobiles respectively. If the number of people that commute via automobile is exponentially greater than that travelling by the air, then the percentage of passangers that travel by air having accident can become higher than the percentage of accidents occuring on the road. For example, if 10000000 people travel by road and only 10000 travel by plane in US. Then the chances of accidents come out to be higher in plane than automobile. Therefore, to bolster his claim of flying being safe, the author must answer this question of total number of passengers travelling through both these modes.

Moreover, is the average passengers per vehicle same for automobile and planes? Only the figure of how much safer the pilots are from drivers can be misleading if not accompanied by the number of passengers each of take risk of per trip. If the pilots carry 10 times number of passangers per vehicle in the automobile, then even f they are 4 times safer than the drivers, but they would still be potentially more deleterious than the driving in automobiles. So, in order to reach the correct conclusion, the author must produce this statistic of how many average passengers per vehicle does the pilot and drivers carry. This would help to truly reflect which of them is safer in true sense.

Also, the statistics that the author has produced to show the number of accident deaths is not comprehensive of number of accidents taking place. It is quite possible that there are more accidents in flight but deaths are low. In this case, we cannot equate deaths with safety. Therefore, the author must answer how many accidents took place every year and not just the deaths.

Another incompleteness in the statistics is that the time horizon of consideration for the data is missing. It is quite possible that these data were collected over a small time horizon of 1 or 2 years which is not representative of the average. There may be outlying incidents that could have led to biased results like rail accident etc in the time considered. To negate this possibility author must put forth the time horizon for the statistic and ensure that the data is completely representative and unbiased, collected over a sufficiently large period of time, atleast 5 - 10 year

In sum, there are various questions which need to be answered in order to evaluate the argument. In the absence of these, the argument is weak and tenuous. The author must present the evidences asked for above, so that a holistic picture can be drawn and the argument can be comprehended without logical fallacies.