Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

I disagree with the statement that children shouldn't be allowed to play computer games and that they are a waste of time. I feel this way for several reasons.

First, computer games help to develop a lot of skills. There are games out there that help in developing the reflexes of children. Games like 'Tennis pro' act as a simulator for actual tennis practice. By playing these games children get better at playing tennis as their movements get refined and they are able to perform well in actual tennis matches as well. For instance, my younger brother plays tennis on his Play Station 5 in order to hone his tennis skills as he uses joysticks which act as a virtual tennis racquet and a virtual reality headset that helps simulate a tennis match in an actual stadium. Due to this, even his coach has said that his game has improved a lot.

Secondly, there are games out there that help in the cerebral development of children. For instance, when I was young, I used to play chess on my computer all the time. As a result, I learnt skills like strategy and planning, which have helped me in my adult life as well. For example, I was recently assigned a very large project in my company. I used my planning skills which I had learnt while playing chess when I was a child to break down the project into smaller components and assign proper time estimates to each of the components. Due to this, I was able to complete the project within the promised timelines.

Thirdly, children, today don't have the option to go out and play outside because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Parents are worried about their child's health and don't want to send him out to play. Moreover, most of today's parents don't have a lot of time to spend with their children due to their work. So, children end up getting bored as they have a lot of spare time. They can't spend all their time studying as we all know: All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. Computer games provide the opportunity for kids to not get bored, be engaged in something interesting and learn valuable skills discussed above.

All in all, computer games are not a waste of time. Computer games help in motor skills development, brain development, and provide an opportunity for leisure and learning during the pandemic. Ergo, children should be allowed to play computer games.