The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

Environmental problem is one of the biggest threat to the mankind today and is deep rooted and complex issue. The author claims that the best way to solve the environment problems caused by consumer-generated waste is to stint the amount of trash that they will accept from each household. This argument is preposterous and rife with loopholes and I don't agree with the author's opinion.

First of all, setting the limit on the amount of trash doesn't solve the inherent problem of some type of garbage being more harmful than the other. For instance, if some household generates trash that contains harmful chemicals like bleach or ammonia then a small amount of this garbage will be more harmful than a large amount of garbage that is compostable like kitchen waste.

Secondly, if the city council were to take the decision to set limits on the amount of waste that they will collect from each household then those households that generate more garbage than allowed will have undisposed garbage sitting in their bins in proximity of their homes which will cause more health and environmental issues. People might start disposing off garbage on the streets which could lead to more environmental problems.

Instead of limiting the amount of trash, the city council can raise awareness among the people about various methods of waste managament. Most of the environmental problems today are caused because of the fact that non-biodegradable waste is buried in the soil, thrown out in the water bodies or burnt. Burning of non-biodegrable garbage releases pernicious gases in the causing air pollution whereas throwing it in the water bodies causes water pollution. In order to mitigate this, the government or the city council can teach people about harmful effects that the unmanaged waste has. For instance, they can teach people about segragation of waste into biodegradable and non-biodegradable categories. The biodegradable waste can then be used for making manure by burying in the ground and the non-biodegradable waste can be treated using chemical processes to make it less harmful or it can be recycled instead of being burnt or being thrown into water.

Also, the city council could streamline the process of waste disposal. Instead of throwing out trash in the ocean or dumping the trash in land fills, they could use proper methods of waste disposal. They could use perishable trash to make manure. The garbage land fills are a source of stench for nearby residents and can pollute nearby water bodies as well causing water pollution. The fauna that consumes this water faces some serious problems. The fish could end up eating the trash thrown in the water bodies and face health problems. Humans that consume this water may catch cholera, diarrhoea and other water borne diseases.

Lastly, people should become aware of the various methods being used currently to preserve mother earth. They can follow the principle of 3Rs: reduce, reuse and recyle. People can try reducing the amount of waste that they generate. They can try to reuse certain things. For instance, instead of using take-out meal utensils just once, people could wash them and use it again instead of using new ones when they order food again. Also, the waste like plastic, glass and paper can be recycled and used again. They can also avoid using plastic and use eco-friendly things instead. In a nutshell, limiting the amount of trash collected will not solve the problems caused by consumer-generated waste. It has to be joint effort by all the people of the world.