In any field business politics education government those in power should be required to step down after five years Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing a

Whether those in power in any field should be asked to step down after five years or not is a moot topic. It can be beneficial as well as harmful to the system and public in general. Both these scenarios have their own pros and cons that must be considered before reaching any conclusion. Thus, my stance is nuanced regarding this topic. If people are allowed to stay for more than five years, it can bring prosperity to the country like no other but, in case the events take a wrong turn, it can bring chaos in the nation.

Firstly, if those in power are not allowed to stay in power for more than five years, then there is always a chance to replace that person if that person is not performing well in the assigned field. This protects the nation from a downfall. For instance, if a person who is assigned to take care of the GDP of the country but that person doesn't have enough or no experience in this field and that person doesn't perform well in his tenure, then he can be replaced after five years in his place.

Secondly, allowing only a fixed tenure will give chance to more experienced and more knowledgeable people to take the position. This can be a boon as this increase the prosperity of the nation because there is a high probability for the newcomers to perform better than the previous ones because of their credentials.

Also, a fixed time period reduces the chances of foul play. If those in power indulge in bad practices like bribery, corruption, collusion etc., they can be replaced after their tenure is over. People are not bound to them forever.

But, all this can be contested citing various reasons that can prove that those in power should be allowed to stay in power for longer periods of time.

It can be claimed that in case those in power that are performing well should be allowed to stay in power for longer period of time because they have already done something well and have uplifted the situation in the nation. There are high chances that allowing them to stay in power will be serendipitous for the nation.

Secondly, a lot of resources are wasted in the process of choosing new leaders. A lot of money is spent in organising elections. Time of the people, which is an invaluable resource is also wasted. Thus these leaders should be allowed to lead without asking them to step down.

But, allowing the leaders to stay in power can take a wrong turn as well. It is well known that the human mind is fickle. One cannot say for sure that those in power who are performing well and care about the nation will not turn bad. They can indulge in all the bad practices after they have been elected. Allowing them to stay in power for long periods of time may even give rise to dictatorship and we all know that dictatorship is a very bad form of government as evident from the history of countries like Germany and North Korea. Even the word has a foul feeling connotated to it.

Thus, to surmise, we cannot say for sure whether it will be beneficial or not to let leaders in power stay in power for more than five years.