The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

this is a memo of facial company which is planning on bringing new facial cream to the market. they plan on enormous media blitz including television,radio and hoping that this hype would decrease the negativity about the previous version and would in turn increase their shares.

The argument states that the best way to combat negative publicity received is to fight fire with fire, by using media's interest in any news about the company to sell the new formula. media generally would be interested more in controversial matters. previously their company had got a negative name so media had an insatiable interest towards the news, but now they bought a new cream. there is no guarantee that media would promote their product.

Here the company assumes that just with the release of new product which is non carcinogenic would divert the bad name they have got. In the first place the company got condemned because the people who had used it had problems in it and people will never forget the product which affected them if it had had a very bad cause. The company would have lost the trust of many customers previously and trust is one of the main reason a consumer buys a product from a company.

The argument doesnt provide the reason due to which the old cream got vilified. The acceptance of the new cream would be inversely proportional to the damage it had caused. if they had mentioned the causes the argument could be a little more reasonable.

The passage doesnt provide details about the percentage of people who gave the bad review. if a small amount of people were effected by it then the new product would be sold in good amounts in the market. if large amount of people were effected by it there is very tenuous chance that the product would stand in the market irrespective of the hype created.

The argument would have been more cogent if it had mentioned the statistics about how many people got affected, what were the ill effects of the old cream, how the new cream is different from the old cream and details like that.