Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views can not be said to be out writely useless, it is in the first place controversial because every idividual pictures same situation differently based on several factors like their background, experience, environment etc. which in turn affect their opinion on an issue.

Take for instance growing up in a society where the is delegation of duty based on gender like my society a girl is ment to assist her mother in grooming the house will he boy take on more arduous tasks, if such a person finds herself in a more cosmopolitan society she and find gerself to make a contribution on a controversial topic like which gender is more important in the development of the society welfare. Such a tooic will bring out different opposing opinions irrespective of this the will be cogent points to pick that will better shape the understanding of every party involved.

I no their is a popular saying from the bible, which has even become inconcated into our society at large "can two work together if their is no agreement", of course their can be no progress if there is no cohesion but we are not to for get in understanding our differences will reach agreeable concessions and this can only be achieved if controversial topics are discussed by people of different opinions.

Another point to consider is the limitations of individual human minds, if we are all of same opinion the ease of determining the cost of an action will be difficult to estimate, i do recognized parties of opposite opinion will be worried about the beurecracy of the procedure but looking at the advantages which is of greater benefit as argueing help understand a point or situation better.

In conclusion every individual is unique and we all address issues based on our we understand them, creating room for heathly argument forsters understanding which will on the long run established long lasting progress.