The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The petition sent by the environmental protection group reagarding that the Smith Corporation should not be allowed to build the hotel because, it will create harm to the sanctuary, Since, the petition does not directly states the reasons why the land should not be given, it have various flaws in it.

Firstly,the petition statesthat the dvelopement of the land will have disastrous effects, but, have not given any evidence proving that it will be disastrous to the area. There can be a case like the Smith Corporation is building the hotel and having effluent treatment plants in a way that they will not cause any harm to the surrounding area. The Smith Corporation maybe having facilities in their hotel like first Aid or any other veterinary help for the sanctuary. Tus, evidence should be provided by the group regarding this.

Secondly, the petition states that the developemnt of the land will have disastrous consequences to the area but doesn't give or provide the reasons for why it will create disastrous consequences to our area. It has been stated in the petition that only a small portion of land will be given to the corporation thus, that will not create any disastrous effects to that area. Maybe there will be a case like they are requesting only a small percentage of area because they are concerned with the sanctuary their. The corporation may be having a very small customer base and maybe they be creating a conference room for the Yountown Wildlife Sanctuary authority in the hotel to regularly discuss how the sanctuary could be managed or any other meetings regarding the protection of the sanctuary.

Also, it has been stated in the petition that tourists come to visit the sanctuary primarily to see the magnificient bir population. In this case, the hotel maybe providing the tourists a place to live in or eat which will be resulting in the developement of the area through the taxes which will be paid by the hotel. It will also create employability for various people in the Youngtown and thus, benefitting their lives also. There may also be the case like, the Smith Corporation maybe thinking to spend some portion of the revenue earned in the welfare of the sanctuary. Hence, the statement stated by the petition doesn't provide any solid proof that it will not benefit our community.

Thus, regarding the implications discussed, the petition holds many flaws in it and should provide evidences and have a good scrutiny in the sense that what is the purpose of the Smith Corporation behind building this hotel or why the land developement will create harmful effects for the sanctuary.