In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Education, as defined by John Dewey, is the process of facilitating leaning and acquisition of knowledge, skills, values, beliefs and habits. This process spans over right from the elementary school to college and then university education; and includes wide array of subjects including imaginative literature, social and natural sciences, humanities, sports, etc. aimed at molding students into well-rounded individuals. The proposition that college students must take courses in novels, poetry, mythology, etc. to become well-rounded individuals is an over emphasis on both the role of imaginative literature and college education in shaping students.

At the first instance, the recommendation appears compelling given the manifold advantages of studying imaginative literature for shaping students into well-rounded citizens. Studying imaginative literature helps develop imagination prowess as the participant is forced to imagine the world that the author wants to portray in his words. Reading poetry requires one to grapple with the new words that are not grammatically straightforward thus honing verbal adroitness and analysis. It also forces the reader to decipher the hidden meanings fostering their creative thinking and ability to analyze information for biases and opinions. Reading novels prompts the reader to perceive the world from the protagonist’s viewpoint and embrace the social values that the latter stands for; thus inculcating high moral standards. For example, reading Robert Stone’s ‘A Hall of Mirrors’ would help students understand the evils of racism and motivate them to fight against the same. Similarly, studying Mythology helps in understanding different religious beliefs, culture, practices, etc. that can instill tolerance and respect for their adherents and followers.

However, the proposition has two underlying assumptions that are unfounded. Firstly, it assumes that only courses in imaginative literature are crucial for students’ overall development. There are scores of other subjects and areas that are equally important for the holistic education process. Taking coursework in History helps pupils to learn from past mistakes thus instilling wisdom. Courses in anthropology, social and political sciences, philosophy, give an insight into one’s place in the society; whereas, modules in astronomy, natural sciences, cosmology, etc. are needed to grasp one’s status in the natural world. On the other hand, engagement in sports is critical for the physical well-being of the students; while, courses in fine and performing arts are indispensable to appreciate aesthetic skills in students. Secondly, by asserting that courses in imaginative literature should be mandated for college students, the statement assumes that only college education plays a critical role in molding students. Well-established research studies have proved that early school education is the elemental building block for laying the strong foundation for lifetime learning and development of mental, social and cognitive aptitude in children.

Lastly, the proposition overlooks the very objective of college education which is to prepare students for their university education for specialization in a specific field. By the time, most of the students enter college, based on their interest and skill-set, they have already decided their career path which may not be imaginative literature. Forcing such students to read novels, poetry, mythology, etc. might demoralize them and distract them from their chosen field. Without motivation, dabbling in any literature, will just amount to be a waste of time and money for students. A pragmatic approach for educational authorities is to include electives on imaginative literature and encourage students to pursue the same by highlighting their importance, instead of forcibly imposing them on students. Moreover, for school education such courses can be included in balance with the other subjects and sports essential for their overall development as mentioned above.

In conclusion, the recommendation falsely assumes that college education and imaginative literature are the very basis for shaping students into well-rounded individuals - while imaginative literature is just one of the many important subjects. Rather than obligating students to pursue imaginative literature at college level, it is advisable to include those subjects as electives in balance with other important subjects, mentioned above, if possible from the school level which is the essential period in students’ development.