In order to become well rounded individuals all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry novels mythology and other types of imaginative literature

The education industry is promoting the needs of shaping students into a all-rounded persons in recent years. Some stakeholders suggest that schools should provide STEM courses, which included science, technology, engineering and mathematics modules to equipped students the ability to adapt in the emerging development of technology world. Others devote that students should read imaginative literatures such as novels and mythologies in order to earn creativity. It is undeniably agreed that reading stories and fictions could boost the readers' imagination. However, it should be included into the regulated syllabus of college study.

Imagination is vital for accomplishing task, especially when creating new products. Under-water houses and floating buildings appeared only in fairytales in the old days. However, thanks to the architects' creativity stimulated by the crazy thoughts from movies, those "impossible" buildings are possible nowadays. Studying mythology might also help students to understand the culture of a place better. In traditional Chinese myths, monsters would come to attack the villagers on every Chinese New Year. Therefore, villagers put red posters outside of their doors so as to scare away the monster. That's why you could understand why Chinese love red. Reading imaginative literatures does bring positive impact to students o some extent.

However, if students are mandatory to study those articles during normal lessons, drawbacks would be caused. Firstly, adding extra reading materials into the existing teaching modules would definitely increase the students' workload. If homework or test is assigned, they would feel stressed when doing revision. Besides of burdening the study workloads, reading too much imaginative works might make the readers mix up the reality with the virtual world. We could always hear news that youths who are over-addicted into comics or video games and acting like the virtual characters in real world. That might lead to serious consequences, such social-isolation or even physical harms.

Indeed, reading stories is not the only way to develop imagination. Studying geometry in mathematics could also train students not to think solely based on visible information, but also try to form multi-dimentional objects in their mind. Imagination and creativity are also not the only elements of shaping a all-rounded person. Students should also gain inter-personal skills, languages and presenting skills or logical thinkings from college in order to grow well-developed.

To conclude, reading literature is beneficial to college students to certain extent in particular area, but it should not be mandatory to be included in college study. There are still many other ways shaping students into a all-rounded individuals.