Many important discoveries or creations are accidental it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another

From history to time, many major important discoveries and creations are forged by myraids of factors and inspirations. Some may achieved by multiple tests and trials, while some may just accidentally attained. When it comes to working on research or doing experiment, sturdy foundational studies and more attempts should be more important yet effective than just achieve the task by luck.

It is undeniably agreed that serendipities existed in some renowned yet significant discoveries, for instance, Gravitational Law observed by Newton from a falling apple, microwave noticed from a melted chocolate bar at a radar laboratory and x-ray hinted by a glow on a fluorescent screen. Those mentioned discoveries are not planned but still make a remarkable impact to human lives even till today. It is fact that unexpected results may be much more desirable than the anticipated outcomes. However, is this true that non-planned results always better than planned ones? Obviously not.

Indeed, what accidents do is just stimulating scientist to think in a new way. Newton studied basic physics law well, so when he witnessed an apple fallen from a tree, he was inspired by this scenario and then utilized his understandings in physics to derive the theory of gravity. Similarly for the inventions of microwave and x-ray, the scientists who discovered these two substances were in fact expert in optical waves and energy, therefore they were able to publish the findings of these two useful substances. Not every layman of science could be capable to give such findings as the experts do.

Nonetheless, there are more major inventions which were completed by goal-oriented efforts than by chance. For example, Edison invented electric lightbulb by many tests and trials. What if he didn't pre-defined the aimed results nor well-controlled of his experiment? Not only might electric bulbs were not produced, but might also cause serious laboratory accidents such as fire or explosion. Despite of causing harms, goal-undefined works may also make themselves prone to lack of support and financial funding. Nowadays, significant researches are often large-scale and require lots of money. If intended outcomes are not defined and promised, it is hard to convince the government or private investors to support the project and thus hinder the inventing process.

All in all, most major discoveries and creations are not entirely accidental. Although accidents may help initiating an important discovery, well-defined scope and target should be made and would often lead the project to the right path and to success.