Most homes in the northeastern United States where winters are typically cold have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures and climate forecasters predi

An investment consultant suggests his client that he should invest in Consolidated Industries, a company which focus in doing home heating oil retail business. He proposes this based on the facts that many new houses were built and 90 days of below-normal temperatures were recorded in last heating season in nottheastern United States and believes that the demand of heating oil will be great in the future. His argument may seems justifiable ostensibly, at the first glance, but is flawed to be supported when fully evaluate the hidden assumptions that he made.

Given most homes in northeastern United States use oil as their major fuel for heating traditionally, the author implies that the demand of heating oil will not be decreased in the coming years. Obviously, the author fails to consider that there may be alternatives which would replace heating oil in later time. While sustainable energy is developed rapidly in America these days, many households may switch to use electricity as the main source of heating fuel.

The author also cites a weather report which stated that there are 90 days of below-normal temperatures recorded in last heating period and claims that this climate will continue for several more years. He backs his claim by mentioning the related predictions made by weather forecasters. However, he does not make comparison between previous cold records and the 90 days record that he stated, hence we have no idea that whether a record of 90 days vary greatly to the past samples or just about the same. Perhaps there are generally about 120 freezing days in the past but only 90 days this year, we just don't know.

Moreover, the author gives the recent population growth in that region in substantiation of his claim that new house built and population growth will still be a trend in future. Unfortunately, he disregards the cause of population growth. Maybe there are economy falldown in other nations and immigrants are coming back to their hometown this year. What if economic blooming in other cities or political failure in northeastern United States happened in the future? Residents may move to elsewhere and the region will be much less populated. The demand of household fuel is not guaranteed in this case.

In addition, the most critical concern in investing on Consolidated Industries is that will it really make a profit in that area? Perhaps this company does not serve the northeastern part of America at all, so get no benefits from the generally low temperature and huge demand of heating fuel in that area. Even if it does provide business in this region, the author does not examine the financial status or past loan history. Will this company poosibly go bankcrupt in the coming few years? Without thorough yet indeep study of a enterprise, investing huge amount of money in it is not wise.

In conclusion, there are many researches and studies should the author do before giving such an advise, otherwise his proposal is not cogent and convincing.