All students should be required to take the driver s education course at Centerville High School In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained th

The author of a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville suggests that high school should provide driving courses. He advises such an argument due to several traffic incidents involving young drivers happened in the past two years and a number of complaints from parents were recieved that there should be some actions to be done in order to ensure teenagers are safe drivers. Ostensibly this argument is justifiable, at the first glance, but is flawed to be supported when fully examine the hidden assumptions that the author made in his statement.

Given young drivers were involved in several car incidents in recent two years, the author implies that teenagers behave less satisfactory as adults do. Obviously, he makes this claim fallaciously as he fails to consider how are those youths got involved in a car accidents. Possibilities of that the youngsters were crashed by a careless mature drivers, which the teens were doing nothing improper when driving cannot be completely ruled-out. The author is also not mentioning the exact number of car accidents that involved young drivers. Perhaps the ratio of accidents caused by young drivers is much lower than that of experienced drivers. These evidences are not cogent enough to examine the seriousness of young driving.

Other than the misclaim of young driver accident rate, the author also states the complaints from parents in substantiations of the nesscesity of providing driving courses by high schools. He also ignore the the actual number of complaints, as there may be in fact only one to two complaints received. A few parents are busy and have no spare time in teaching their children to drive, while other parents may have spent lots of time and efforts in instructing their children how to drive safely. If driving courses are offered in school, it may be duplicated with the parents' one and become unesscesary.

Moreover, the author does not clarify all the uncertains if schools provide driving courses. For instance, who will be teaching the courses? Are the existing teachers all experienced and safe drivers and are capable to teach others to drive? If the driving schools are regulated by the government in Centerville, will the courses offered in college also be supervised? Without clear and thorough planning, this suggestion is not likely to be supported.

To conclude, colleges offering driving tutorials may help improving and ensuring students' driving skills, but there are still many uncertains and potential drawbacks. More studies and plans are required to make this proposal strongly convincing.