Last October the city of Belleville installed high intensity lighting in its central business district and vandalism there declined within a month The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district but the rate of

The president of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce recommends to divert budget from existing bicycle patrols to installing high-intensity lighting in the city and claims that such measure will greatly reduce the crime rate. His suggestions is influenced by similar actions taken in the city of Belleville, and vandalism there declined almost immediately after these changes. Ostensibly, this argument is justfiable, at the first glance, but is flawed to be supported as the writer has made various assumptions.

To start with, by mentioning the high-intensity lighting installed and immediate vandalism rate decreasing in Belleville, the author implies that similar measure will also be practical in Amburg. However, geographical proximity does not guarantee similarity in criminal behavior. Perhaps the vandalism situation is fierce originally in Belleville, so that after new measure implemented the vandalism rate is greatly reduced. If the crime rate in Amburg is generally low originally, it is unreasonble to expect a great reduction in criminal incidents.

Besides, the author overlooks the underlying factors that may cause the crime rate reduction in Bellevile. Perhaps in Belleville, not only a strong lighting system was built, but also the authority imposed heavier panelties on vandalism and installed numerous supervisal camera all over the city to sway people from commiting crimes. Without fully evaluate all the measures the Belleville council taken, the possibilities that not installing lighting system is effective but other means do cannot be completely ruled-out.

The author also avers that installing new lighting system is the best approach to reduce commit rate of all kind of crimes, but provides insufficient substantiation to reinforce his claim. Given the situation of vandalism is relieved in Belleville after installing such strong-intensity lighting, the author simply concludes that such installation will be more effective than the bicycle patrol which is adopting in Amburg right now. Obviously, the writer fails to cite supports to determine whether this is the "best" approach to tackle with high crime attempting rate. What if most crminal incident in Amburg are occured during daytime, which the strong-intensity lighting does not affect the level of visibility at all. In addition, there's not evidence showing that the reduction of vandalism rate by installing new lighting also help in reducing other types of crimes in Belleville, so it is nonsense to deduce that applying relevant steps in Amburg will gain such effects.

To conclude, this suggestion apparantly finds supports in certain extent, but it goes to far in concluding the questionable effectiveness. More study is required to make it strongly convincing.