Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the excerpt, the author recommends that in order to decrease the crimes and revitalize the neighborhoods in the Amburg city, it is a sound option to install the high-intensity lighting throughout the city, since it has an undeniable influence in the Bellevile city. This recommendation rests on the series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is, therefore, unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the article does not mention the type of crime in the Bellevile city; maybe it was a type of the crime such as the usage of the drug, which requires a dim place. As a result, by installing the light, they demolish this situation for the addicts. Besides, the writer assumes that the crime of Bellevile city is identical to the crime of Amburg city. However, there is no any lucid evidence about this issue. For instance, maybe the huge portion of crime activity in the Amburg city is related to the internet crimes such as the fake bank account for internet purchase. In this condition, the installation of the high-lighting system is an abortive action. Without providing the accurate data about the crimes and the efficiency of lighting system on them, this assumption is factitious.

Another threshold presumption upon which the recommendation relies is that the police patrols by bicycle do not address the combat the vandalism in this city. Actually, it is a facial conclusion; inasmuch as the author does not provide any information about this petrol and its duration. Maybe, the police forces were not prepared in the sufficient quantity to overcome whole crimes. In addition, as it mentioned in the text, this service has started just recently; maybe it does not have the adequate span of time to execute its whole schemes to tackle the vandalism.

Finally, the passage expects that by the decrement of crime and vandalism, the deprived neighborhoods of the city will revitalize. It is merely a vague expectation about the future without the cogent and concrete evidence to adherence its feasibility. The neighborhood can be decreased for the sake of the insufficient facilities, or the lake of the easy-access transportation system. Without counting for these and other possible causes, the author cannot assume that there will be an increment in the neighborhoods. Therefore, the assumption and expectation should shape based on the logic clue of this decrease and the valid method to flourish it.

In conclusion, to persuade me that the installing high-lighting system will be effective in the Ambrug city, the writer must supply clear evidence that the crime types of two cities are similar. He must also provide a clue that police patrols cannot address this problem solo and the decline of neighborhood in this city is related to crime and vandalism. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed for the reason indicated.