To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of article recommends that it is a necessity to change the program format of the WWAC radio till to relieve the crisis of listener’s decrement. This recommendation cannot be accepted as it stands. It rests on the series of premises to support of each some vital questions are to be answered.

The first vague question which comes to the mind at first glance is that by the comparison of the whole population, what percent of the new dwellers of the WWAC listening area is old, as the article states the majority of the new citizens migrate to this spot after their retirement. However, it is shallow information with the ill-defined term majority. Even in a case which the 100 percent of the new population is old, if they cover solely forty percent of all the people, the alteration of the program's format to appeal the elder people’s taste is an abortive try since this change does not persuade the big portion of the people. The argument could have been fortified if the author had clearly presented the demographic statistic of that particular area.

Next, the author assumes that for the sake of continuous decline in the sale of the music record in that specific area, the people are less eager to listen to the music. Actually, this surmise leads to a list of unanswered questions. First of all, what is the numeric value of decrement in the music sale? If there is less than fifty percent decline in the sale, this assumption is shaky, inasmuch as the majority of the people prefer the listening the music. Moreover, if the percent is more than fifty, it does not cogently present that people do not like the music. In this case, the second question appears. What are the shopping sources to purchase the music records? Maybe the citizens buy the music records from the internet services. Or perhaps, they freely download the music from the web. Each of these scenarios would provide an alternative explanation for this decrease apart from the people's reluctance toward the music.

Finally, the author leaves another unresolved question about the demand for news and talk format at the WWAC listening area. Even though it has been asserted that those programs are popular in that spot, does there any further requirement for these types of the programs? Maybe the presented applications by the other radio stations are compelling and attractive which there is no other demand for the additional program, or perhaps the novel program could not compete with the ongoing programs. Therefore, total variation can lead to the extreme loss of listeners. If the author had presented the evidence that the current supply of news and talk programs in the radios is not sufficient, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned above and is, consequently, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned to the demographic statistic after the current migration, the actual and valid clues that the people do prone to listen to the music. Moreover, there is sufficient requirement for the news and talk format program in the WWAC listening area. Without this information, the argument opens to debates.