There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual wo

The author claims that the lower sick leave rate and physician-to-resident ratio in a city prove that it is more suitable to live in for who chasing for a healthy life than other places. It might seems logical, at the first glance, that the more relaxed pace of life in small towns is beneficial for a longer lifespan. However, the quality of longevity and health is subject to many complicated factors and the author may not fully examines all the underlying possibilities in his argument.

First, given the fewer days of sick leave taken by employees reported in Leevile than that in Masonton, the author derives that people in Leevile are generally more healthier. This conclusion is rife with holes and assumptions. Workers not taking sick leave doesn't mean he/she is healthy. Expensive clinic fees or low medical services quality may sway patients away. In contrast, workers taking sick leave doesn't mean he/she is suffering from illness! Some irresponsible employees may abuse the quota of medical leave for doing private stuff, such as attending gatherings or going to bank, so as to keep their labour holidays for later use. Lower sick leave rates doesn't guaranteed for a healthier condition of residents.

Besides, the author also mentions that the proportion of physicians to residents in Leevile is five times as lower as that in Masonton and hence he suggests that the need of Leevile's citizens of medical treatment is lower. Again this statement is also not concrete as it ignores other hidden possibilities. Perhaps there's a prestigious medical school or hospital in Masonton and therefore many talents are attracted to study and work there. The author also fails to notice and compare the quality of clinical services in both cities. Perhaps the need of medical treatment in Leevile is much more higher than that in Masonton, but just less doctors are available in Leevile. The health condition of public in a place cannot be simply concluded by the number of doctors there.

The last evidence provided by the author is the averagely higher age of residents in Leevile than that in Masonton. This is not justifiable as the home-leaving rates in both places may varied. Students may move to another city for job after graduation in Leevile, and hence higher the city's average age. In addition, the food, water quality, level of air pollution, habits of exercising and even the average wealthiness of a place may also alter the longevity of people in a place. It is also worth to notice that the phenomenon in Leevile cannot guarantee the case will happen in all other small towns, vice versa to the situation in Masonton.

A relaxed life may let people live more peacefully. However, in order to fully back the author's view towards the directly relevance of living in smaller communities and longer and healthier lives, more researches and studies are required.