There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that living in Leeville, a city provides relaxed environment, make residents healthier and to live longer than people living in big cities. However, as discussed below, the argument relies on several critical assumptions supported by implausible evidence and insufficient information is therefore unpersuasive.

To begin with, the author assumes that people in Leeville is healthier than people in Masonton because there are fewer days of sick leave taken by workers in Leeville. However, fewer workers in Leeville were sick might not be conclusive evidence which can support the assumption if most workers in Leevilles works in Masonton. As Masonton is located near Leeville, there are possibilities that Leeville’s residents commute to Masonton everyday, and this might be a reason that why Masonton showed more number of day off because of illness. Furthermore, if standards for allowing days of sick leave is stricter in Leeville, the number of the days could not relevant to health condition of people in Leeville and Masonton. Therefore, the author need to present more information about how many people in Leeville commute to Masonton and proof that standards for sick leave is same in Leeville and Masonton to strengthen persuasiveness of his argument.

Moreover, the number of physicians in Leeville and Masonton might not be concrete supporting evidence of the author’s assumption on people’s health condition in Leeville and Masonton. If there are better hospitals in Masonton, and the citiy is very close to Leeville, people living in Leeville might prefer visit hospitals in Masonton to see a doctor in Leeville, and it caused concentration of the number of physicians to Masonton. In this case, smaller number of physicians in Leeville might not prove better health condition of Leeville’s residents. Accordingly, more information about proportion of the number of people in Leeville who prefer to visit hospitals in Masonton among all residents in Leeville is required to decide whether this evidence is plausible or not.

Futhermore, the author’s assumption on people’s life span in Leeville and Masonton is needed more evidence. The author assumes that Leeville’s residents live longer than people in Masonton because average age in Leeville is much higher than the average in Masonton. However, the author omitted to present information about people who recently moved to Leeville and left the town. If young people left the town to find chances in big cities, and huge number of people who retired moved to Leeville, the average age might less related to the assumption because this trend, which is not truly relevant to resident’s health condition and life span, could affect the statistics. Therefore, a proof that the research is conducted for people who have lived in the two places for their whole life might help to improve persuasiveness of the evidence.

In sum, the author’s argument might not be agreeable because assumptions used for arguments are not properly supported by concrete and conclusive evidence. Thus, as pointed above, the author should reinforce his supporting evidence and provide more information to strengthen his argument.