Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

There are many people who support the idea that governments should provide free university education to students who cannot afford the tuition. This essay will argue why this argument is not easily put into action and reasoning against it due to potential downsides of implementation.

Admittedly, providing pro-bono university education to students suffering from financial problems seems beneficial because it will encourage the principal of equal opportunity and help to train highly educated human resources. Providing an equal education opportunity brings hope to people that they can overcome current economic problems and gives motivation to students to sturdy hard to go to universities. If only privileged students can go to universities, other students will not study hard and remain disadvantaged. This is a huge loss for a government because it wastes potential increase in education levels of the country, but also social complaints which can be a trigger of anti-government demonstrations like ‘Occupy Wall Street’ movement in 2011. Therefore, providing free education is a good remedy to mediate social inequality. Furthermore, this will help cultivate highly educated human resources which are essential to encourage development of advanced technologies such as artificial intelligence and high-speed networks. Nowadays, a country’s success highly depends on development of technology, which requires tremendous numbers of university graduates because complexity of technological matters is significantly increased compared to the past. Thus, the author’s argument seems agreeable considering positive effects from providing funds for disadvantaged students because it helps training them as advanced human resources and meliorate social equality problems.

However, this policy, supporting university education for less fortunate students, also has many shortcomings including limits on budget and abuse of the subsidies. First of all, governments will suffer from a higher budgetary deficit if they implement this policy and it will be extended to decline the quality of university education. For example, when the city government of Seoul implemented free education for disadvantaged students, many university students in the city faced increased difficulty to register for courses from their universities due to the increased number of students . This happened because the city government used budget for opening university courses to support students who has financial difficulties. Furthermore, similar to other social welfare policies’ side effects, providing government subsidies for university tuition to students in economic straits could result in moral hazard. Some students will deceive about their financial status and receive subsidies illegally, and governments would have to spend additional budget and hire more government officers to detect these illegal beneficiaries. Also, beneficiaries of this policy will be less motivated to study hard and graduate from universities compare to other students who pay their tuition themselves. Accordingly, concerns on governments’ budget and misuse of free tuition provide a substantial argument against the author’s argument.

In sum, while the author’s statement seems agreeable and ideal, providing free education to less fortunate students is not a perfect policy which encourages social equality and cultivation of core human assets due to its shortcomings including limitation on budgets that would compromise quality of college education and possibility of misuse of subsidies. Therefore, decision makers in governments should consider these downsides when they discuss about this policy.