"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that daily consumption of Ichthaid is recommended to reduce absenteeism. However, this argument relies on several critical assumptions which are supported by insufficient and unpersuasive evidence.

To begin with, the author assumes that fish consumption is highly related to treatment of colds based on studies conducted in nearby East Meria where people consumes a lot of fish. According to the research, people in this region rarely visit doctor for curing colds. However, it is uncertain that eating fish is direct cause of low rate of people who got colds in this region, because there are possibilities that other variables are also related to this. For example, if East Meria’s annual temperature is not hospitable to virus or bacteria that causes colds, consuming fish is not able to be considered to sole determinant for the result of this study. Also, there is no data about the number of people who were subjects of the study. If the study is conducted for small number of people, and the number is not enough to have representativeness for the entire population, this research could not be considered reliable. Moreover, as the author missed present how long this test was taken to reach the results, there is a possibility that this result only represent short-term trend if researchers observed people less than one year. Therefore, the author should provide more detailed research data which can prove that the fish consumption is the only factor related to the number of people who got colds in near East Meria, how many people the researchers were observed and period of the study to strengthen his idea.

Furthermore, the author also presumes that use of Ichthaid could be helpful to prevent colds. However, the oil from fish which is the main composition of Ichthaid might not be effective to patients even if we assume that eating fish is truly helpful for treatment of colds. If the materials effective to suppress virus or bacteria which causes colds were lost during process of making oil, the Ichthaid could not be effective. Also, if there are special physical traits that people living in near East Meria, and this is a main reason that why fish was effective for the people in this region, this treatment might not be effective to people live in other areas. Accordingly, more information about what materials in fish helps to prevent colds, accounts for a possibility of loss of such materials, and more information about special traits of people living in near East Meria will make the author’s argument more plausible.

Even if all above assumptions that the author made above are true, use of Ichthaid could not be ultimate solution for reducing absenteeism because people may lie about their reason of absent. As colds are popular and commonplace disease, people could say they got colds to avoid long explanation for their real reasons of absent. Therefore, more detailed research on main reasons of absenteeism is required to make the author’s conclusion agreeable.

In sum, author didn’t present enough evidence and only showed limited information as pointed above. Accordingly, the author needs to reinforce his idea by presenting more evidence and improving it with more reliability.