Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

It is true that there are controversies about saving every plant and animal species even though it requires sacrifice of human being’s effort, time and monetary values. Some people argue that it is extremely important because we are also parts of nature as well as other plants and animals, but others insist that it is not worth to try with spending a lot of recourses and extraordinary efforts. As our history proves, I believe saving other species at any cost is our duty.

To begin with, protecting other plants and animals is important to maintain our ecosystem because we are not still capable of building another ecosystem or revising current one. As Biosphere II experiments was ended with some lessons, our planet’s ecosystem is extremely complicated and not easily copied or fixed in short time. Therefore, if other species are continuously diminishing due to human’s activities, there might be serious damage on our nature’s own system, and it cannot be fixed permanently. Also, as a result of this damage, our race will suffer from lack of foods or extreme change in climate. In addition, saving other species is essential because they might be helpful for developing new technology. It is not novel anymore that scientists are researching specific organs of some animals or plants to develop new material or mechanism which can be adopted to new inventions or helpful to improve current products. Therefore, if we lose more kinds of animals and plants, there will be no more chance to learn from other species. As discussed above, saving animals and plants is necessary to save our ecosystem and let them help our researchers to develop novel inventions by imitating them or their organs.

However, as other people argue, there might be some drawback of inputting to much resources to save animals and plants. As our governments and other organizations are suffering from lack of budgets, if more resources are invested on saving other species, our welfare will be impaired. Current situation of COVID-19 virus shows this very well. Many countries including the United States spent tremendous money to preserve and study other species instead of allocating more resources to medical system. As a result of this allocation, most countries’ medical infrastructures were not functioning well in the pandemic situation. People are dying because of lack of doctors, nurses, and medical equipment. If the money invested on other animals and plants were spent to improve medical care, the number of casualties would have been lower than now. Therefore, it is not easy to deny that use of money to save other species could be less beneficial because it means there will be less investment on our welfare.

Nevertheless, I believe saving other species will be meaningful because of the reasons stated above. Also, as our governments are using a lot of resources on other less beneficial things, such as nuclear missiles, there could be many areas other than saving animals and plants, which budgets should be reallocated to our welfare system. Therefore, other animals and plants should be preserved at any cost for our own good.