Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many controversies about somethings taking some actions that people do not like. Some people might not agree with the idea because they believe that this is violation on their freedom. However, I believe there are some cases that we have to do something we do not enjoy for great causes.

To begin with, no one could easily deny that people should restrict their rights themselves in emergency situations even though this restriction is not pleasure for all people. For example, in COVID-19 pandemic situation, people are forced to wear facial masks to protect themselves and other people from spreading virus. Also, in some areas which shows high number of infected people, people are not allowed to come out from their houses. Many people argue that taking all these actions for preventing further spread of virus are not enjoyable, but this is necessary to keep all people safe. Therefore, to overcome emergency situation, people should admit that they have to cooperate with their neighbors and governments by taking actions requested to overcome the situation although these actions make some inconveniences.

Moreover, as people usually said, there is no gain if there is no pain. If people want to acquire more knowledge or skills, they should suffer from doing excessive study or practice even though studying and practicing more is not usually considered joyful. According to research conducted by Seoul National University, people who devote more than two thousand hours on one field are more likely to be successful in the field. Also, Jisung Park, who once considered one of the successful professional soccer players, mentioned that tremendous amounts of painful practice times made him as a more skillful player. As these examples shows, it is manifest that people should endure some unpleasant times to be more successful.

In sum, as discussed above, to overcome emergency situations and become more successful, people should agree that they need to do something less joyful because it will help them eventually. Therefore, avoiding unpleasant actions might not be the best idea in all cases.