Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Diversity propelled many improvements in our society. Therefore, the author’s argument, requiring students to take various courses outside of their fields, seems plausible, and some people agree with this notion. However, there are unignorable disadvantages of taking a variety of courses, which makes the argument might not be agreeable

Admittedly, having chances to learn outside of one’s field will guarantee a lot of opportunities to learn various things which will be beneficial in near future, because sometimes, adopting solution from other fields is more effective than finding one in one field. For example, when Steve Jobs was looking for new methods to promote his products, he realized that some classes related to calligraphy he took before could be useful. He applied aesthetic calligraphies into font styles in his software, and this adoption became one of the reasons that made him successful. There is another example. Development of artificial intelligence is also a gift from combination of mathematics and computer science. When computer scientists reached at limit, their knowledge in advanced mathematics and statistics made a pathway to break through the limit, and it became a beginning of machine learning and data science, which are popularly used to develop artificial intelligences now. As these examples shows, taking courses outside of student’s field might be beneficial someday when they are faced with impediments.

However, the author’s recommendation could make student less knowledgeable in their original field. As science and technology develop faster than before, there are more complicated subjects that students should learn before they graduate. If they lose their time to focus on their own study, there are possibilities that they might not have proper knowledge to be considered experts. Also, some greatest scientists were able to be successful by having more depth in their field rather than widening their knowledge by taking various courses outside of their fields. For example, Albert Einstein, who is considered one of the greatest physicists, devoted his whole life to study and research on issues in physics. Although he didn’t spend his time to learn other fields, he discovered and examined most complicated issues in his fields, and what he achieved is still worshiped by physicist in present. If he had spent his time to study other fields, for example, politics or chemistry, his might have not be successful as a physicist. As this shows, letting students to focus on research about their fields will be beneficial as much as making them to take various courses outside of their fields.

In sum, due to possibilities of losing chance to have depth in students’ original fields, forcing students to take courses outside of their fields could be dangerous even thought this proposal has its own advantages. Therefore, the author’s argument might be considered radical and needs more careful assessment about its advantages and disadvantages.