Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

There are many controversies about the argument that the author presented. Some people agree with the argument that constantly receiving respect from peers is more important aspects of effective leaders than sound moral judgement. However, an ability to do sound moral judgement is as important as being respected by peers.

Admittedly, being respected is one of the most important characterisct as a leader because respect gives authority and power to a leader to lead people. For example, Augustus, who was the first emperor of Roman Empire, always tried to receive respect from senator members and citizens even though he has absolute power to lead the empire after eradicating most his enemies. Due to his effort to be respected by surrounding people, he was able to push ahead most his plan to make his empire more wealthy and powerful without facing with opponents. Also, former president of South Korea, Jung-hee Park, could implement many policies to improve South Korea's economic situation because he was respected by his followers. Although he was a dictator and killed many citizens to keep his presidency, he always maintained his reputation as a clean and dedicated leader, and it helped him to be respected by most people and gave power to propel his idea to make South Korea as a developed country. As these example shows, receiving respect is helpful to leader by giving authority and power to implement policies that the leaders want to achieve.

However, having ability to do sound moral judgment is also important aspect to be successful leader. People might respect some leaders because of their achievement, but this kind of respect is not sustainable if there is serious defect on a leader's moral judgment. Jung-hee Park was also killed by one of his followers because he was continuously losing his ability to make right moral judgment. Before he was assasinated, he had ordered to kill citizens who demonstrated against his dictatorship. Also, Bill Clinton, who was former president of the United States, almost lost his presidency because of his poor moral decision about having inappropriate relationship with one of his followers. Even though Clinton achieved huge success in resurecting economy of his country, he was heavily blamed by this moral decision. Therefore, having great ability to make sound moral judgment could not be condoned if a leader wants to maintain his leadership and stay in his or her position.

In sum, as discussed above, it is not deniable that being respected is one of the most important aspects of leader, but having ability to make right moral decision is also extremly important to be successful leader. Therefore, if a leader want to be effective, he or she has to have both abilities.