"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The presented letter recommends expending the coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs in order to attract more viewers and increase advertisement revenue. As discussed below, the argument relies on several critical assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive without further evidence in support.

To begin with, the author’s argument is based on the assumption that there were complaints from viewers who concerning about their news program’s less coverage of weather and local news However, the author didn’t mention that how many viewers showed their concern on this issue. If the number of complaints is not significant, for example, less then 1%, it is not be considered that these complaints is an opinion accepted by major number of viewers of the program. In addition, complaints submitted for a year is not concrete evidence to support author’s opinion. If there were many critical weather and local issues, demands on news containing these issues would be temporally increased unlike past years. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the number of complaints and long-term data are critical to strengthen the author’s argument.

Furthermore, the author assumed that cancellation of advertisement is happened due to less coverage of weather and local news. In stating this, the author makes a broad assumption without presenting any relevant data. For example, the author didn’t present any direct connection between the cancellation of advertisement contracts and contents of the news program. The cancellation could happen because of other reasons such as economic recession or finding better marketing method. Also, run rate of cancellation of advertisement could not be higher than past years. If the rate is not significantly higher than past year, it would be dangerous to argue that these cancellations are the evidence of the author’s argument. Accordingly, unless the author can corroborate direct reasons of cancellation of companies used to request advertisement through the news program and show trend of long-term cancellation statistics, these advertisement cancellations might not be conclusive evidence.

Even if the cancellations and complaints are admitted as solid proofs of the arguments, the author’s conclusion still hinges on the assumption that covering more weather and local news will bring new viewers and advertisement. As stated above, if demands on weather and local news are temporary and this year’s main interests of viewers are already changed from these topics, changing the program’s characteristic as the author argued would be dangerous. Also, due to cover more topics on weathers and local news, more reporters are needed to be hired, and additional allocation for resources are also required, which could deteriorate profit rate. Therefore, the author has to consider recent interests of viewers and costs causing from executing author’s solution before arguing expanse of weather and local news coverage.

In sum, the author rests his case on a number of assumptions that may not be accurate. Consequently, further evidences pointed above are required to strengthen the author’s argument substantially.