"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The author argues that the company should resume production of their alpaca overcoat. However, as discussed below, this argument relies on several critical assumptions which are based on unpersuasive and insufficient evidence.

To begin with, the author assumes that the company can resume production of the overcoat because they found a new fabric supplier who can support materials which were not supported for five years. However, there is no information about how many materials are available to be supported. If the new supplier doesn’t have capability to provide enough materials to meet the number of alpaca overcoats expected to be produced, resuming production of the overcoat might be radish decision. Also, cost information about the material should be presented because if the materials are supplied at unrealistic expensive cost, the company might not afford them. Therefore, before arguing the resume of the overcoat, the author needs to show more information about material supply including available quantity and cost.

Moreover, the author’s assumption on demand is questionable. According to the author, it is expected that there should be pent-up customer demand because no company have supplied alpaca overcoats after the company stopped its production. However, the author missed a point that there could be change in fashion trend. If people now think that this overcoat are outdated unlike their thought five years ago, the overcoats might not be successful even though they are able to be sold again. Also, if this is true, people will be more likely to avoid spending on this overcoat with higher price even though most other clothes are sold in higher prices. This contradicts the author’s another assumption on available price of the overcoats. Accordingly, more plausible evidence on demand and available price on this overcoat is required to make the author’s argument more agreeable.

Even if we assume that all above assumptions that the author made are true, still there are questions about profitability of this overcoat is remained. Although raw materials are ready to be supplied, if other costs including labor cost, utility cost, and other any related costs are increased to be enough to exceed current selling price of the overcoats, the company should not resume the production of this coat because it will mark lose on their income statements. Therefore, more careful assessment on cost analysis should be conducted to support the author’s argument.

In sum, as we discussed above, the author made assumptions according to evidence which is not enough and reliable to support his argument. Accordingly, more information about the raw material supply, customer demand, available price of the overcoat, and more research on cost analysis might be helpful to improve the argument’s persuasiveness.