"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing Kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of Sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that people in Forsythe become heathier by adopting more healthful lifestyles. However, the author relies on several critical assumptions that is supported by unpersuasive evidence and insufficient information.

To begin with, the author assumes that people are healthier than they were ten years ago by presenting a recent survey result. However, the author omitted information about the number of people who responded for the survey. If there were few respondents, it is uncertain that these respondents have representativeness of entire population. Therefore, the result might not be considered as concrete evidence unless the author proves that there were significant number of respondents. Also, even if we assume that the survey result is reliable, it might not directly indicate that people in Forsythe are healthier than before because there are possibilities that government’s recommendations were not effective to improve health condition. If the government presented outdated or wrong recommendation to their people, following these recommendations could not be reason of people’s improved health condition. Accordingly, more proof about effectiveness of these recommendations are required to strengthen the author’s argument.

Moreover, another assumption about consumption of Kiran that the author made needs more explanations. The author assumes that increased sales of foods containing Kiran helped improving people’s health in Forsythe. However, as the author didn’t provide any detailed information about domestic sales of the foods, increased sales of these foods might not contribute to the improvement if this increase is only shown in sales of foods made for export. Also, even if the increase is also happened in domestic sales, increased consumption of Kiran might not be effective to improve people’s general health condition if people in Forsythe have maintained low level of cholesterol. Therefore, the author should provide statistics about long-term data of domestic sales of foods containing Kiran and people’s cholesterol level to prove that his assumption is plausible. Furthermore, reduction of Sulia is also questionable evidence of the author’s argument. Even though sales of Sulia is diminished, if there were huge decrease in total population in Forsythe, consumption of Sulia per a person in the country might be increased. Thus, more evidence that Sulia’s consumption per a person is also dropped is required to make this evidence able to support the author’s argument.

In sum, the assumptions that the argument relies on needs more evidence and information to improve persuasiveness. Unless the author shows evidence and information pointed above, the argument might be remained implausible.