Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There are many controversies about corporations’ role in our society. As the author showed, some people believe that corporations have additional responsibility to improve social welfare and environment while other people insist the only role of corporations is creating money within our law system. Like many disputes in modern society, it is hard to decide which argument is correct. However, this essay will show that corporations have responsibility for our society and environment.

Admittedly, corporations are allowed to do anything for their profit if actions they have taken do not violate laws. Therefore, there is no legal responsibility that companies should consider about this issue. Also, if corporations are restricted by these kinds of demand, their profitability would be declined, and it would cause layoff which generally make more social problems. For example, in many developed countries including the United States, governments and some organizations argued and imposed more social and environmental responsibilities to companies in their countries. When these policies were implemented, people expected that more improvement on our society and environment, but they were partially correct, because companies left those countries and built new facilities in other countries which do not require such responsibilities. Therefore, results of this imposing were huge number of unemployed people, which is one of the main problems that most developed countries are suffering. As this example shows, demanding more roles for our society and environment to corporations might not be good idea for our society.

However, more actively helping our society and environment could be helpful both for our society and companies. Companies are being profitable by selling their products or service to laypeople. Therefore, helping them by providing some welfare or improving environment will be more effective way to promote their sales number. As normal people are becoming wealthier, they are paying more attention to environment and improving total happiness of societies where they are belonged. Accordingly, it is not difficult to find people who voluntarily promote some companies which have done great job for environment or society on social network service. For example, when COVID-19 situation became pandemic in every country, Alibaba donated huge amount of money and facial masks to many countries. Due to this donation and people who shared this news to others, the corporation could avoid decline in their brand power, while other Chinese companies were seriously damaged because the fact that the virus were firstly started from China. Accordingly, showing more responsibility could be a powerful method to improve corporation’s profit and society.

In sum, as discussed above, even though laws do not force corporations helping society and environment, having more responsibility for these could bring more benefit for company itself and its belonged society because it could be effective tool to promote their products or services. Therefore, corporations should remind this effect and consider giving more hands to our society and environment.