Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed Reading Course has greatly improved productivity One graduate of the course was able to read a 500 page report in only two hours another graduate rose from an a

A perspnnel director of Acme Publishing Company suggests that all employees in this company should take a speed reading course offered by Easy Read so as to enhance their productivity. His claim is supported by stating that many other companies also doing the same plan and introducing the outstanding performance of graduates from the course. Ostensibly his recommendation and evidences are justifiable, at the first glance. However, there's assumptions and flaws in his statements and hence this proposal could not be fully justified,

The author mentions that many other companies are now requiring their workers to attend Easy Read courses and their productivity are greatly improved. This example would be cogent only if the other companies are doing the same kind of business and employees are working on same nature of tasks as Acme does. If another publishing company claims that sending their article calibrator to Easy Read course and their reading pace is greatly increased and hence they finish the calibrating tasks faster than before, Acme should also try to let their calibrating staffs to join speed reading course so as to achieve the same efficiency as other graduates do.

Given the reading rate and the fast promotion in job position of two of the graduates from Easy Read, the author derives that the faster you read the more information you can absorb in a day. This might be true for workers who are dealing with tremendous literature a day, such as report writers and reviewers. But when it comes to accountants or financial secretaries, they are required to do lots of calculations with extra care a day and speed reading skills are not significant to them. Hence, reading fast does not guarantee a better career in every job role.

Lastly, the author backs his suggestion by saying that the $500 tuition of Easy Read course would not burden the company and indeed brings more benefits. This is just a subjective assumption made by the author, as being a personnel director, he may not clearly realise the financial status and affordability of the company. If the company hires only 10 employees in total, finding all staffs to take the Easy Read course would cost only $5000; while if there are 1000 staffs in total, the costs would be 100 times more, which is not a small amount. It is also worth to notice that the course takers are required to attend a 3-week seminar in Spruse City, which means employees have to be out of office for 3 weeks if they attend the class. Missing one or more staff from the daily working routine, the company may have to hire extra worker to temporarily take up this vacancy, or have to pay for extra working hours of other staffs, or even drag its working schedule. The course included lifelong subscription and newsletter may not be able to compensate this incalculated loss.

Although reading fast could bring some benefits to both employee and employer to some extent, more study and research should be carried out first before funding this proposal.