The effectiveness of a country s leaders is best measured by examining the well being of that country s citizens Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be

It's true that a counties effectiveness can be measured by well being of it's citizens in some cases. However, there are certain cases were this is not the right way to judge a leader.

In an underdeveloped country, even the most effective leader might not be able to lift the lives of the citizens to ultimate well being that can be seen in other already developed countries. Consider an under developed nation hit by a malady. the most effective leader of this country might try to uplift the lives of it's citizens by improving healthcare of nation. he might succeed in saving many lives but some could still die because of inherent health care limitations country had before this leader took power. Also he might want lift the countries economy by trying to industialize the coutnry , fighting against internal corruption. He might be succesfull in his effforts to some extent. But ultimate well being of this country also depends on the condition of the country before this leader came to power. Even though this leader has improved the quality of life, the country is yet to reach the apotheosis of it's development. In these scenarios effectiveness of the leader should be measured by relative improvement that happened in the nation and not merely on countries citizens ultimate well being.

Even in a developed country, if a leader focuses on only the current well being of it's citizens it's not good enough. For example, if a countries leader is effective in all the countries internal affairs but have not maintained good international relations. May be an oil producing countries leader refuse to provide oil to other nations and thus made the country a 'villain' in the eyes of rest of the world. This may not have immediate consequences, but in future this will affect the well being of the citizens. Thus a leader, apart from current well being of citizens, should also be focused on nation's future too.

With all the limitations of measuring effectiveness of a leader by countries citizens well-being, one must admit that it's one of the main parameter to measure a leader's effectivess. cirizens will lead a prosperous life in someones tenure in leadership position only if that leader is effective. A good leader identifies the problems in the society, listen to netizens demands and effectively works to resolve the issues which leads to ultimate well being of the citizens.

In conclusion, a leaders effectiveness can not just be measured by well being of countries citizens. one must consider the future implications and past status of the nation to better judge a leader.