Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own p

The given prompt shows the dilemma concerning the goals of politics. some people support the stand point that, politics should aim for pursuit of ideal were as others argue for reasonable goals. In my opinion, goals of politics should not be restricted, and they should try pursuing the ideal.

Our goals should not be limited even before we start pursuing it. As the popular saying goes, if you aim for starts, at least you will hit moon. When our goals are limitless, there are more possibilities for growth, which we are not restricting in the first place itself. Consider the development of Singapore, at the beginning of 20th century, it was just another underdeveloped, Asian country. When most of the country's leaders in politics aimed only for fulfilling basic needs of citizens, The Singapore's politicians aimed to make the country one of the leaders in science and technology. As a result, today we see so much advancement of technical knowledge in Singapore. During the same timeline, some of the restrictive politicians in other countries could not even think of scientific advancements. As a result they left their countries behind, in pursuing scientific knowledge.

Some might argue that, trying ideal pursuits might not lead the pursuer to happiness at all. they might consider hypothetical situations like, if a politician of an underdeveloped country aims for a mars mission from the nation, when most of the country is yet illiterate. It is true that, in those scenarios, ideal goals will be difficult to achieve, and sometimes impossible. However, rather than waiting for the end result to be successful to become happy, one should be content with the process of trying to achieve something. Same goes with the aim of politics. In the hypothetical situation given above, the politician should lay out initial step of education to kids, that might someday fulfill his ambition of mars mission by the nation. He may not be very clear about how this education will finally lead to the mars mission someday,but he knows that this is the way to go. He should acquire his happiness with the growth that education is saying. If the same leader restricts himself even the possibility of achieving mars mission at all, he is shutting down the possibilities which may exist for the nation. and even if such possibility doesn't exist, he has nothing to loose by trying.

Some might still argue that being reasonable is practical, but such judgement of being reasonable is relative , and a lousy leader will set a lower bar.

hence, politics should aim to pursue ideal as restriction of goal hinders many possibility of growth.