Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue of what goals politics should pursue is complex and has many nuances. While each side has it's strengths and weaknesses, I believe that politics should focus on finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus. To force politics to reach ideals would be unreasonable and would result in little forward progress. Political policies and debates must encompass the needs of large populations who have very different ideals and can not ignore the needs of populations whose ideals do not align with the majority. Therefore, politics should focus on appeasing the population as a whole an...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.