Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one’s ability to relate and connect to other people. Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that community.

The issue of whether one should travel and live in numerous places or live in one place in order to increase their ability to relate and connect to other people is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that traveling numerous sites better suits the purpose of developing one’s effective social skills because it provides opportunities to interact with multifarious types of people. Furthermore, it trains individuals for one of the most vital parts of human relationships, and all these benefits are exclusive to those who live in various locations.

First and foremost, you are able to interact with various types of people through traveling. There are diverse kinds of people in the world, different ethnic groups have distinct but occasionally shared cultures. Without first being exposed to the culture, it becomes fairly challenging to connect to those with the culture. In other words, understanding one culture through traveling enables individuals to easily connect to a group of people who have a similar culture. For example, many countries in Asia share similar values, such as respecting elders. Once you understand their basic values, it becomes much easier to understand their mindset and behaviors. If you live in a slam and interact with the people who are not wealthy, it becomes easier for you to connect to relatively poor people that are everywhere in the world. Therefore, traveling and interacting with multifarious types of people enhances one’s ability to relate with others.

Secondly, switching the environment frequently trains you for one of the most vital parts of human interaction. People tend to be biased towards the other by the first interaction with the person. Depending on the circumstances, it is entirely possible that one becomes unwilling to meet you for the second time. In that case, you will less likely to be able to recover the relationship. Therefore, how one behaves to others in the first place is a vital part of smooth and effective relationships. If you stay within one community, the chances that others have known about you somehow are fairly high especially if the community is high. Therefore, it is difficult to improve the skill needed for the first time interaction. On the other hand, traveling multiple locations requires you to interact with the people who have never seen you. Thus, traveling and relocating often boost one’s ability to relate to others effectively.

Finally, some may argue that a deep relationship is only attainable from a long relationship, therefore it is not possible if one travels away from a community. However, this point is flawed since there is the Internet available for anyone to connect from distant locations. Once you become close to others in a community, it is totally doable to get in touch with the people even after once you leave the community and growing deep relationships until you return to the community one day. Therefore, the benefit of the in-person relationship is not exclusive to the ones who stay in the location in this time period. However, on the other hand, the amount of knowledge about other cultures one can attain from the Internet is still limited because, most of the time time, the Internet provides you with the information that you searched for but hardly expose you to the diversity. Hence, traveling multiple locations provide exclusive benefits in order to connect to others.

In sum, traveling numerous sites better suits the purpose of developing one’s ability to relate with others because it provides the opportunities to interact with multifarious types of people, it trains individuals for one of the vital part of human relationships, and all these benefits are exclusive to those who live in various locations.