Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author's claim that we can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than than from those whose views contradict our own is quiet debatable. It is always true that people of same sort of thinking norms form group and share the views and ideas. Hence when there is difference of opinions or thinking directions differ among the group, there may be likely that it would inhibit learning, and causes stress in the mind.

As we all know that "Birds of same kind flock together" is absolutely true without a doubt. That is the rule of the nature and it makes every organism on this earth to group with their similar creatures, may it be the appearance, thinking style and so on. Similarly, the human beings, who have the same way of thinking style usually stay together and form groups. For example, when the child is born, he or she will come to know his parents, and then gradually his or her family. Hence, at first, the child's group is his or her family. As the child grow, he makes friends in schools and colleges. Here the child will automatically find a friend whose ideas match with his or her ideas. As the rule of the nature the people stay together are driven by solidarity.

The solidarity among the people in a group make them get closer and share the views and ideas. We have seen many such examples in our social life that people who are driven by solidarity have given so many good things to the world. For example the entrepreneurs Packard and Hewlett were having common views and ideas. They also were good friends indeed. With their common views and ideas gave a business organization to this world that is Hewlett Packard. By sharing the views and ideas, it makes the people possible to do several things. So are our scientists with the share of knowledge and ideas have contributed so many to the world.

If there is a group with the people having different thinking views, it is likely to cause more disagreement. For example, if two people have different thinking views on a same aspect, the two people will start arguments and this may turn to separation of those two just because they did not share same views. It also lays stress in the mind which will make the thinking inhibit. Hence, people with the contradicting thinking styles will not stay together for long.

Although, the view that staying together with like-minded people is given the most importance, with the contradicting view will also have to be considered. Such a discussion is called dialectic discussion. In the early times there use to have such discussions to find out what is true. Perhaps, such contradicting views will only help is solving very few problems and such numbers are nominal.

Thus, in total, the author's statement and the reason for that claim is totally agreeable. In a nutshell, staying with the people who share new ideas give way to the new development of learning and inventions rather than staying with the people who do not share same views and ides.