Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's claim regarding the culture and practices that are held in the Tertia Island by different anthropologists seems facile. There are many loops holes that needs to be addressed, before concluding the statements. More number of proofs and evidences are needed to admit the conclusions.

Firstly, the author is stating that Dr. Karp is abandoning the observations made by Dr. Field with the reason that seems unjustified. Twenty years ago the culture and the practices that were adopted by the Tertia island might have now changed making the observations made by Dr. Feild obsolete. It may be likely that there was small population twenty years ago which made Dr. Feild perform observation-centered study. Without the population scale and the comparison between the culture and practices for twenty years, it is not possible to say whether Dr. Feild's observations are wrong.

Secondly, as per Dr. Karp's observation that all the children in that Island are talking more on their biological parents. It may also be likely that the child rearing practice is still continuing in the Island, which is making the children miss their true parents and this is why they are talking much more time on their biological parents than the other adults. Hence only by observing that the children are talking much more on their biological parents, it cannot be said that Dr. Feild's observations are invalid.

Thirdly, there is no proper evidences are provided which shows which activity of study is providing more accurate results. The activity performed always depends on the population scale, time, previous practices and so many other things which cannot be ignored. Hence concluding that the future studies has to incorporate interview-centerd method to study the child-rearing practices is futile.

Thus, in total, there are several loop hole the author need to address before drawing the conclusion. Still greater and deeper studies and comparisons has to be made to understand the child-rearing practices in Tertia Island before concluding the facts.